BIG BEN

Description

Hi, my name is Ben and I’m looking for my forever home! I am an extremely sweet and loving dog, but I was dealt a bad hand of cards for the first part of my life. I came from an abusive home, so it takes me a little while to warm up to humans and trust them. I tend to gravitate towards women and will find that one special person to give all of my cuddles and kisses to. Speaking of cuddles, I am a super velcro dog that loves to sit in your lap, lay with you on the couch or in bed and follow you wherever you go. Although I prefer to always be in the same room with you, I do well in my crate at night and while you are away. 

I have a Labrador and Shih Tzu foster brothers that I really love to interact with and we all get along really well. There is a cat that I sniff from time to time, but I’m just curious about her. I am very submissive and gentle, so I could get along with pretty much any pet that you have - but I would love another dog around my size. 

Going back to my earlier years, I didn’t have any toys to play with, so I do not know how to play with toys or fetch balls. I’m also trying to learn the rules inside the house and basic commands, which are all pretty new to me ... but I catch on very quickly! My Foster Mom taught me that I had to go outside to use the bathroom, which I picked up after a couple of days and she is teaching me how to “stay”. I’ve learned to wait, if my Foster Mom tells me to stay and I’ve also learned to stand back from the front door if it is opened. 

I did test heartworm positive, but my Foster Mom gives me medicine for it every morning and evening inside of a “Greenies Pill Pocket” and I just think I’m getting a yummy treat for being a good boy! Otherwise, I am in great health. 

I think I would do well in a home with either a single woman or a couple that does not have young children. My last Owner was a man and he was very mean to me, so I tend to be cautious / scared when a man is around. I may warm up to a man after time, but he will have to be very patient and understanding while I get to know him. I am also very scared of loud sounds - even a clap will send me running into the other room, so I would prefer a house that was calm and quiet.

I am looking forward to meeting everyone and starting the second chapter of my life, which will be the best life ever! 

Profile

Age: 5 years old
Gender: Male
Good with Other Dogs? Yes
Estimated Adult Weight: 50 lbs
Heartworm Positive Yes