Buddy

Description

       Hi, my name is Buddy and I am a two year old Golden Retriever looking for my forever family. I currently live with my foster family and get to play all day with another fun dog my size. I love other dogs and make friends with them very quickly, especially if they are around my age and like to rough house and play with toys. My favorite games to play are “fetch” and “tug of war”. I am extremely food motivated and enjoy treats and compressed pork skin, which are given to me when I perform commands such as “sit”, “stay”, “lay down” and “go outside”. In fact, I love treats and bones so much, that I get pretty upset if another dog tries to take my treat from me. For this reason, I need to be in a home with a submissive dog that gives me space while I am chewing on my bones and eating my food. 

When I am not playing, I enjoy relaxing on the couch with my family or snuggled up with my humans for a nap. I am a very affectionate boy that loves to cuddle, give kisses and be close to his human people all day. My foster family takes me on walks (usually 2+ miles) several times a week and I love getting out and exploring the neighborhood. I walk really well on a leash if we are walking around the neighborhood, but tend to pull pretty hard if I see another dog walking by or a duck in the lake … so I will need someone very strong to hold on to my leash. 

My Foster Mom says that I am one of the smartest dogs she has ever met. When I first got to her house, I would steal the other dog’s food and did not know any commands … within one week of working with my Foster Mom, I have learned to not eat from the other dog’s bowls, learned many commands such as “sit, stay, come, lay down, go outside” and have quickly adapted to the rules of the house. I love to make my human family happy, so I am more than willing to learn any tricks or rules. In addition, I am completely potty-trained and have never had an accident in the house – I will even tap the door to let you know that I need to go outside. 

As for my future home, I would be happy with a Mom, Dad or Both! I am great around older children, but tend to play bite and jump up on people from time to time, so I may not be the best dog for younger children or older people. I am very strong, so I need someone that is able to handle me on a leash. As stated above, I have some food aggression issues when it comes to treats, so I would be best with another dog that does not try to steal my food or as an only dog. I can live with a cat, but I find them very interesting, so the cat would need to be okay with lots of sniffing – but I will also back off with a little swat of the paw. I am extremely healthy, heartworm negative and neutered, so I am ready to find my forever family and live happily ever after! 

 

Profile

Age: Approximately 2 years old
Gender: Male
Good with Kids? Good with Kids over 10
Good with Cats? Yes
Good with Other Dogs? Yes
Estimated Adult Weight: Large Golden Approximately 65-70 lbs
Heartworm Positive No