My name is Gibbs. I am a 4-year-old, 80lb, heartworm negative Flat-Coated Retriever. I have soft paws and a gorgeous velvety coat.If you’re not familiar, I look like a Golden Retriever dipped in ink! I was surrendered by my elderly owner because she could not handle me, but I have been lovely ever since I arrived with my foster family. I can be a little bit stubborn so I just need a strong owner who can clearly show me what to do. I have a sturdy build so I am strong when I’m being stubborn.

I get along well with other dogs; I am friendly and playful at the dog park. However, I am an Alpha so I will try to display dominance with intact males/small dogs/other Alphas. My foster brother is also an Alpha and we live together peacefully. I would do fine as an only dog getting all the pets and love for myself!

I am a good boy who knows basic commands, am fully housetrained, and walk well on the leash. I am not reactive to other dogs or small animals like cats and squirrels. I have  never been crate trained and seem terrified of the idea, so my foster mom lets me sleep in the bedroom with my foster brother (we have our own beds).

My biggest challenge since coming to GRRH has been learning to eat my meals on a schedule. I was free fed at my old house, and I learned to resource guard. I am not food aggressive, but my foster mom feeds me and my foster brother separately until I learn to finish my meal. I have made very good progress.

I like men and women, especially the ones who set firm boundaries and play with me. I am never far from my foster mom’s side. I am a loving and joyful pup, and good natured even when I don’t get my way. I’m just a huggable couch potato who’s up for whatever you are!



Age: 4 Years Old
Gender: Male
Good with Kids? Good with Kids over 10
Good with Cats? Yes
Good with Other Dogs? Yes
Estimated Adult Weight: 80 Lbs
Heartworm Positive No